College of Law to Host Annual Alumni Dinner May 14 at Rice-Eccles Stadium

On Thursday, May 14, the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law will host its annual Alumni Dinner at Rice-Eccles Stadium on the University of Utah campus.   The college will present awards to three alumni and one honorary alumnus.

“The alumni dinner is always an enjoyable opportunity for our graduates to catch up with classmates, meet other ULaw grads, and learn about recent developments at the College of Law,” said Dean Bob Adler. “We have an amazing collection of graduates here in Utah and around the world, and my only regret is that we can recognize so few of them at our annual dinner. But this year’s honorees are representative of their collective accomplishments.”

This year’s award recipients include:

Alumna of the Year

Diana Hagen, ’98, is the Appellate Chief of the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Utah. Following law school, she served as a law clerk for federal District Court Judge Tena Campbell. She subsequently joined the litigation section at Parr Waddoups Brown Gee & Loveless, where she focused on media and First Amendment law. Hagen joined the Appellate Section of the United States Attorney’s Office in January 2001. Since that time, she has briefed hundreds of appeals and has personally argued more than 70 cases before the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. Hagen is a Past-President of both the Salt Lake County Bar Association and the Utah Chapter of the Federal Bar Association and currently serves as Secretary of the Women Lawyers of Utah.

Alumnus of the Year

Cary D. Jones, ’76, is a partner in the Los Angeles office of Snell & Wilmer. His practice concentrates on real estate transactions, focusing in resort, hotel, retail, and office development and disposition; office/retail leasing; zoning and land use; partnerships and joint ventures; real estate financing; and construction. He has represented clients in the ski resort, office, manufacturing, and retail industries, among others. Jones has been recognized by The Best Lawyers in America®, Real Estate Law; Southern California Super Lawyers®, Real Estate; Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business®, Real Estate; and Super Lawyers®, Real Estate – Corporate Counsel Edition.

Young Alumnus of the Year

Brian Rosander, ’05, is a shareholder at the law firm of Parsons Behle & Latimer, where he practices in the firm’s Real Estate, Banking, and Finance department. Rosander is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Utah in the Master of Real Estate Development (MRED) Program where he teaches a Real Estate Due Diligence Course. He has served in several community and professional leadership positions, including, as the former President of the Young Alumni Association for the S.J. Quinney College of Law and as former President of the Young Leaders Group for the Urban Land Institute (Utah Chapter).

Honorary Alumnus of the Year

Dee V. Benson, a 1976 graduate of the J. Rueben Clark Law School, is a judge on the United States District Court for the District of Utah. After graduating from law school, he spent approximately eight years practicing with the Salt Lake City law firm of Snow, Christensen & Martineau. Thereafter, from 1984 through 1989, Benson served in various government posts in Washington, D.C. In 1989, he returned to Utah as the United States Attorney for the District of Utah. He held this post until 1991, when President George H.W. Bush appointed him as a United States District Judge. From 2001 to 2008, he served as Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the District of Utah. Benson is an adjunct professor at the College of Law, where he teaches courses on criminal trial practice and evidence.

The Annual Alumni Dinner will be held on the fourth floor of Rice-Eccles Stadium. The reception begins at 5:00 p.m., dinner will begin at 6:00 p.m., and the awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m. The cost is $50 per person. Free parking is available in the Rice-Eccles Stadium lot.

For more information, contact Megan (801) 581-6679 or visit the event website.