Cost of Attendance
|Utah Resident Living with Parents||Utah Resident Living on Campus||Utah Resident Living Off Campus||Non-Resident Living with Parents||Non-Resident Living On Campus||Non-Resident Living Off Campus|
|Tuition & Fees*||$25,700||$25,700||$25,700||$48,725||$48,725||$48,725|
|Room & Board||$3,060||$10,566||$10,782||$3,060||$10,566||$10,782|
|Books & Supplies**||$4,250||$4,250||$4,250||$4,250||$4,250||$4,250|
*The State of Utah Board of Regents and the University have not established tuition rates for the 2015-2016 academic year—tuition will be set in late April. The tuition figures shown above are estimates. Candidates will be informed of the 2015-2016 official tuition rates and adjusted cost of attendance budgets as soon as they become available.
** The Books and Supplies portion of the budget includes the onetime cost incurred for the purchase of a laptop computer. The allocation for that purchase is $2,200.
Except for the estimated tuition, the cost of attendance budget (“COA”) above is the actual 2015-2016 COA for first year law students at the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law. This budget chart is for the nine month academic year. If a student attends summer school, an additional COA is created for that term. The COA for a student with children under the age of 12 may be increased, depending on the age of each child, $3,700-$5,225 a year for child care expenses. The “Total” figure at the bottom of each column is the maximum amount that a student in that status may qualify for in financial aid. A student may not receive more than that total amount in a combination of loans, scholarships, work-study, or tuition waivers. The amounts for the six categories of costs in the chart are established using federal guidelines that refer to a variety of sources in determining the COA for an average student. The average debt for our Class of 2012 was $80,608.
For non-residents, under current University of Utah institutional policy, students are able to apply for residency after successfully completing 40 law school credit hours at the University of Utah (1–1.5 years). Law students earn 30 credits by the end of spring semester during their first year. Most non-resident students then choose to attend summer school for ten credits because the University charges in-state tuition to all students for summer term-regardless of their official classification. After completing the ten credits in summer school, non-resident students are eligible to petition for reclassification in August, before the start of their fall semester (students must also obtain a Utah driver’s license, Utah vehicle registration and Utah voter registration card at least 90 days before the start of the fall semester). Based on our current tuition rates, this translates to tuition savings of over $45,000 for the last two years of law school.
While the completion of 40 credit hours is the most common method our students use to qualify for residency, there are a number of situations under which a non-resident can be reclassified as a resident. More information on residency may be obtained from the University’s Residency Office at (801) 581-3089. A number of programs assist you in financing your legal education, including merit and need-based scholarships, fellowships, summer stipends, loans, and part-time employment. Check out our financial aid page for links to these resources. Tuition information is available at http://fbs.admin.utah.edu/income/tuition/. The College of Law admissions staff will assist you by serving as a liaison with the University’s Office of Admissions to answer questions about the residency appeal and application process.